AFDIDDRI

Home > Understanding, discovering, practical implementations > Initiatives > CITIIIS: City Investments to Innovate, Integrate and Sustain

Initiatives

India

CITIIIS: City Investments to Innovate, Integrate and Sustain

An Indian programme to support to around 15 Smart City projects.

The Government of India launched its Smart Cities Mission (SCM) in response to the population explosion in Indian cities over the last few decades. This program aims to improve the quality of life of people living in urban areas by developing innovative and sustainable solutions for 100 Indian cities.

While local authorities are encouraged to develop a cross-cutting vision of urban development in consultation with citizens, a Special Purpose Vehicle positioned in each of these cities is responsible for the implementation of the projects.

The CITIIS (City Investments to Innovate, Integrate and Sustain) programme , co-developped by the AFD, the National Institute for Urban Affairs (NIUA), and the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA) provides technical and financial support to around 15 Smart City projects. Selected following a national challenge, these projects will focus on the themes of sustainable mobility, public open spaces, urban e-governance, and social innovation for low-income settlements.

Financial support for the project has been possible through a sovereign loan from the AFD to the Government of India signed in March 2018 in the presence of the Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi, and the President of France, Emmanuel Macron. A 6 million Euro grant from the European Union together with a 1 million Euro grant from the Government of France enables this project to mobilise the required expertise.

Once selected, the winning projects will benefit from additional financial support in the form of a grant as well as from technical expertise specifically tailored to the needs of the project.

https://smartnet.niua.org/citiis/overview.php

Lessons learnt

  • CITIIS aims to foster sustainable, innovative and participatory approaches to build four types of projects within the Smart Cities Mission. Under the CITIIS component, up to 15 projects in the areas of Sustainable Mobility, Public Open Spaces, Urban E-governance and ICT, Social and Organizational Innovation for Low-Income Settlements will be selected through a challenge process.
  • Selected projects and Special Project Vehicules (SPVs) will be part of a unique experimentation laboratory helping to highlight and address specific issues faced by SPVs across India in developing innovative approaches for urban renewal projects.
Imprimer

Share: Linkdin Google + Twitter Facebook

In the same sector

Rennes, FranceAn open data policy
Johannesburg, South AfricaHackathon Hack Jozi Challenge
Urban and spatial planning for the most vulnerable  /  Economic development  /  Managing urban services  /  Relations between local authorities and citizens  /  Municipal capacity building

Search Initiatives

AFDIDDRI

Accueil > Comprendre, découvrir, mettre en pratique > Initiatives > CITIIIS : investissements de la ville pour innover, intégrer et (...)

Initiatives

Inde

CITIIIS : investissements de la ville pour innover, intégrer et pérenniser

Un programme indien pour soutenir une quinzaine de projets Smart City.

Le gouvernement indien a lancé sa mission Smart Cities (SCM) en réponse à l’explosion démographique des villes indiennes au cours des dernières décennies. Ce programme vise à améliorer la qualité de vie des habitants des zones urbaines en développant des solutions innovantes et durables pour 100 villes indiennes.

Alors que les autorités locales sont encouragées à développer une vision transversale du développement urbain en consultation avec les citoyens, une structure ad hoc mise en place dans chacune de ces villes est responsable de la mise en œuvre des projets.

Le programme, co-développé par l’AFD, l’Institut national des affaires urbaines (NIUA) et le ministère du Logement et des Affaires urbaines (MoHUA), apporte un soutien technique et financier à une quinzaine de projets Smart City. Sélectionnés à la suite d’un défi national, ces projets se concentreront sur les thèmes de la mobilité durable, des espaces publics ouverts, de la gouvernance urbaine en ligne et de l’innovation sociale pour les quartiers à faibles revenus.

Le soutien financier du projet a été possible grâce à un prêt souverain de l’AFD au gouvernement indien signé en mars 2018 en présence du Premier ministre indien, Narendra Modi, et du Président français, Emmanuel Macron. Une subvention de 6 millions d’euros de l’Union européenne et une subvention de 1 million d’euros du gouvernement français permettent à ce projet de mobiliser l’expertise nécessaire.

Une fois sélectionnés, les projets gagnants bénéficieront d’un soutien financier supplémentaire sous la forme d’une subvention ainsi que d’une expertise technique spécifiquement adaptée aux besoins du projet.

À retenir

  • CITIIS vise à encourager des approches durables, innovantes et participatives pour construire quatre types de projets dans le cadre de la mission des villes intelligentes. Dans le cadre du volet CITIIS, jusqu’à 15 projets dans les domaines de la mobilité durable, des espaces publics ouverts, de la gouvernance urbaine en ligne et des TIC, de l’innovation sociale et organisationnelle pour les établissements à faible revenu seront sélectionnés à l’issue d’un processus de sélection.
  • Les projets sélectionnés et les véhicules de projets spéciaux (SPV) feront partie d’un laboratoire d’expérimentation unique qui aidera à mettre en évidence et à traiter les problèmes spécifiques auxquels sont confrontés les SPV en Inde dans le développement d’approches innovantes pour les projets de rénovation urbaine.

https://smartnet.niua.org/citiis/overview.php

Faire une remarque aux auteurs Faire une remarque aux auteurs

Imprimer

Partagez : Linkdin Google + Twitter Facebook

Dans le même secteur

Johannesburg, Afrique du SudHackathon Hack Jozi Challenge
Aménagement pour les plus vulnérables  /  Développement économique  /  Gestion des services urbains  /  Relations avec les usagers  /  Renforcement des capacités municipales

Rechercher des initiatives